#BOMTC Day 60, June 5~Helaman 6-7 or Pages 381-386: Cup Up? Fill Up!

Click graphic to read Helaman 6-7

Click graphic to read Helaman 6-7

As you have studied the book of Helaman, you have seen that the Nephites made choices that led the Spirit of the Lord to withdraw from their lives, while the Lamanites made choices that invited the Spirit to increase in their lives. Because of the missionary efforts of Nephi and Lehi, thousands of Lamanites in Zarahemla had been baptized, and the majority of the Lamanites in the land of Nephi had been converted to the gospel (see Helaman 5:19–20, 50–51). Following their missionary efforts, the Lamanites increased in righteousness. Unfortunately, the Nephites became wicked and began supporting the Gadianton robbers, and the Spirit of the Lord withdrew from them. The prophet Nephi prophesied that if the Nephites continued to live in wickedness, they would perish. He also prophesied that because of the Lamanites’ righteousness, the Lord would be merciful unto them and preserve them. Mormon recorded that the Lord withdrew His Spirit from the Nephites and began to pour out His Spirit on the Lamanites (see Helaman 6:35–36). When Nephi saw the state of his people, “his heart was swollen with sorrow” (Helaman 7:6). He went up on a tower in his garden to pray and to mourn the wickedness of the people. When the people heard him praying and mourning, a multitude gathered to learn why he was so upset. After the people gathered to hear Nephi praying upon the tower in his garden, He used the opportunity to teach them (see Helaman 7:12–29). He warned them of the consequences of their decisions and emphasized that if they refused to repent of their sins, they would lose the Lord’s protection and the blessings of eternal life.

influence of the Spirit

In Joel 2:28-29, the Lord promises that in the last days He would “will pour out [His] spirit upon all flesh”.

For illustrative purposes, let’s liken ourselves to a cup. A cup can be placed in a few different positions. You can place it facing up, sideways, or upside down. My position is determined by my attitude and actions. Now if the Lord is going to “pour out” His Spirit upon me then I want to be “cup up” (like the Lamanites in these chapters) with a good attitude and righteous actions. Sometimes my attitude and actions may be bad (like the Nephites in these chapters), in which case I am “cup down”–not a very good position if the Lord is pouring out His Spirit. Sometimes I may not be doing anything bad, but I am not necessarily doing anything good either (see D&C 58:26-28), in which case I could liken myself to “cup sideways”–also not very conducive to receiving an out-“pouring” of the Spirit of God.

Elder David A. Bednar of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles taught that our attitude and actions can cause us to withdraw from the Holy Spirit:

“The saving ordinance of baptism must be administered by one who has proper authority from God. The fundamental conditions of the covenant into which we entered in the waters of baptism are these: we witnessed that we were willing to take upon ourselves the name of Jesus Christ, that we would always remember Him, and that we would keep His commandments. The promised blessing for honoring this covenant is that we may always have His Spirit to be with us (see D&C 20:77). In other words, baptism by water leads to the authorized opportunity for the constant companionship of the third member of the Godhead.

“Following our baptism, each of us had hands placed upon our head by those with priesthood authority and was confirmed a member of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, and the Holy Ghost was conferred upon us (see D&C 49:14). The statement “receive the Holy Ghost” in our confirmation was a directive to strive for the baptism of the Spirit….

“We should also endeavor to discern when we ‘withdraw [ourselves] from the Spirit of the Lord [cup down], that it may have no place in [us] to guide [us] in wisdom’s paths that [we] may be blessed, prospered, and preserved’ (Mosiah 2:36). Precisely because the promised blessing is that we may always have His Spirit to be with us, we should attend to and learn from the choices and influences that separate us from the Holy Spirit.

“The standard is clear. If something we think, see, hear, or do distances us from the Holy Ghost, then we should stop thinking, seeing, hearing, or doing that thing. If that which is intended to entertain, for example, alienates us from the Holy Spirit, then certainly that type of entertainment is not for us. Because the Spirit cannot abide that which is vulgar, crude, or immodest, then clearly such things are not for us. Because we estrange the Spirit of the Lord when we engage in activities we know we should shun, then such things definitely are not for us” (“That We May Always Have His Spirit to Be with Us,” Ensign or Liahona, May 2006).

I invite you to read/listen to/watch Elder Bednar’s entire conference talk so that you can assure yourself that you are living like the righteous Lamanites [“cup up”] in these chapters. His message, along with these chapters, can help you identify what you need to do to be “CUP UP” so that you can “FILL UP!” on the Spirit of the Lord.

That We May Always Have His Spirit to Be with Us

About Bro Simon Says

Husband, Father, Teacher View all posts by Bro Simon Says

10 responses to “#BOMTC Day 60, June 5~Helaman 6-7 or Pages 381-386: Cup Up? Fill Up!

  • Bro Simon Says

    Reblogged this on BroSimonSays and commented:

    ELDER BEDNAR: “The standard is clear. If something we think, see, hear, or do distances us from the Holy Ghost, then we should stop thinking, seeing, hearing, or doing that thing…” READ MORE…

    Like

  • delilah badger

    When are we going to get days 61 and on? I miss the daily blog

    Like

    • Bro Simon Says

      Sorry to keep you hanging. My grandmother died and I am helping my grandfather with all of the “things” that come with losing a loved one. It usually took me about 3 hours to create my posts, and I don’t have the time with everything going on. I miss doing the blog and look forward to returning to posting! In the mean time, KEEP READING! I will probably pick up where everyone should be and then post the ones I have missed later.

      Like

  • Jennifer Reese

    Hi,

    I was wondering why there are no more posts for the book of mormon challenge. I loved looking forward to those every day.

    Jenn

    Like

    • Bro Simon Says

      Sorry, Jenn. My grandmother passed away and I am helping my grandfather with everything. They were married 61 years, so it has been pretty tough. I am glad to help, but it has put everything else on hold. I look forward to returning to the blogs as soon as things settle down. In the mean time, KEEP READING 🙂

      Like

  • Alisa

    I used this for family home evening last night as some of my kids are saying “sacrament is boring”- so I gave everyone cups and had a bottle rootbeer and some ice cream on the table…of course they wanted their cup UP 🙂 – we even watched about 3 minutes of Elder Bednar’s talk and made a family plan to keep our standards for entertainment high and look for opportunities to change our attitude and feel the Spirit. After the lesson, we filled up our cups and ate dessert and I think the image will stay in their minds- “cup up” can be our slogan. I really appreciate the time you take in making these blogs – it has really blessed my summer as I am going through some withdrawals after being released as an early morning seminary teacher. I had planned on reading the BOM this summer anyway…and this has helped me transition from reading “for them” to reading more for myself. Keeping a scripture journal with insights as I read has also ‘filled my cup.’ Thank you so much!

    Like

  • Delilah Badger

    I loved and have missed your daily blog. You have such wonderful insight. Are you going to return to daily blogging when the new school year starts?

    Like

    • Bro Simon Says

      Thank you, Delilah! I have really missed sharing on my blogs. They take a LOT of time to create each day. A death, vacations, and special assignments from work have sucked summer away from day one. I would love to get back my blogs ASAP! I appreciate you, and those like you, who give me feedback and motivation for posting. THANKS!

      Like

  • Helaman 6-7 Holy Ghost | JennySmith.net

    […] From this great blog post, by Russel Simon, I was able to show a fantastic visual to the class! […]

    Like

WHAT ARE YOUR THOUGHTS?

