#BOMTC Welcome to the Book of Mormon Translation Challenge!

Welcome to the 2015 Book of Mormon Translation Challenge!  Most of the Book of Mormon was translated from April 7 to June 30, 1829. Do you have what it takes to read it in that amount of time?

I have divided each of my blog posts into groups of pages that one can read each day in order to finish the Book of Mormon in the same time period that it took the Prophet Joseph Smith and his scribe, Oliver Cowdery, to complete the translation.  You can CLICK HERE for a copy of the bookmark that I have created to help people stay up to date on their reading.

I have also created a Google calendar that you can import into your digital planner to help you to complete your daily study. Just click on the +GOOGLE CALENDAR button at the bottom-right corner of the calendar to add it to your schedule.

I KNOW that The Book of Mormon is a TRUE book of scripture from God.  It is Another Testament of Jesus Christ.  My testimony of Him grows each year that I complete The Book of Mormon Translation Challenge–that is why I do it year after year.  I hope you will take the Book of Mormon Translation Challenge this year!

CLICK HERE to request a FREE copy of The Book of Mormon

PDF Bookmark for The Book of Mormon Translation Challenge

PRINTABLE bookmark to help you keep pace! Print front-to-back for 4 copies/sheet.

About Bro Simon Says

Husband, Father, Teacher View all posts by Bro Simon Says

11 responses to “#BOMTC Welcome to the Book of Mormon Translation Challenge!

  • Bro Simon Says

    Reblogged this on Bro Simon Says and commented:

    Anyone here interested in trying to read the Book of Mormon in the same amount of time that it took Joseph Smith to translate it? Check out the 2015 Book of Mormon Translation Challenge!

    Like

  • Maria Luisa Torres

    Bro Simon, I took the challenge last year and loved it. Please accept my acceptance for this year’s commitment to learn and feel even more from this magnificent book.

    Maria Luisa Torres

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

  • Starr Logsdon

    I am interested! I did it last year and I am ready to take the challenge! 🙂

    Like

  • Elizabeth Birtcil

    I am not sure what is BOMTC is. Can you help me?

    Like

    • Bro Simon Says

      The “challenge” is to read the Book of Mormon during the same time period that Joseph Smith used to translate it (April 7-June 30). I hope you will join us! Click around the blog a little bit to discover more 🙂

      Like

  • Heber Frank

    I love the Book of Mormon, and I think your plan is a good one, but I doubt that the entire Book of Mormon was translated during the period you give. This webpage, eldenwatson.net/BoM.htm says that after the 116 pages were lost, the translating resumed on October 26, 1828 at about 3 pages per week. Of course, there were trips and other things going on that affected the translation. Then during the period you give the pace picked up to about 6.5 pages per day. This makes the translating period of the present BoM cover 248 days. (Oct 26, ’28 to Jun 30 ’29)

    Like

    • Bro Simon Says

      Brother Frank,
      Thank you for your feedback and thoughts. I am familiar with the website that you shared and I have used it in the past while doing some research in Church History. I have found it to be very informative and thorough and I agree with his assumption that the translation resumed with the book of Mosiah after the loss of the 116 pages. Personally, I like to being my #BOMTC in Mosiah, but that confuses a lot of people. I encourage any readers that see this post to take some time to study the information which is there. It appears that current research with the Joseph Smith Papers project will be helpful for updating his original information and timeline as well.
      As for the discrepancy of days in the timeline for this challenge, I see where you are coming from but I have decided to use the “basic timeline” that the Church has put forth as representing most of the current content in the Book of Mormon. The accounts that we have show clearly that Emma Smith and others had helped to do some work as scribes prior to April 7, 1829. We are not sure how much/little was completed, but we do know that the large majority of the current Book of Mormon was translated between April 7 and June 30 of 1829.
      Thank you again for taking the time to comment. I commend you for doing your research! May God bless you as you continue to seek learning by study and also by faith.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Bro Simon Says

      Brother Frank,
      I will be making a slight change to the wording of this post so that it reflects more accurately the facts that we have concerning the timeline of the translation process. Thank you for bringing this to my attention so that I can revise this post.

      Liked by 1 person

  • midgetaylor143

    I printed out the thingy that showed the page numbers, however, in my Book of Mormon those are not the correct pages. Thanks for putting up the actual dates and books and chapters. This helps me a lot. Most of the time I have to go online and magnify the scriptures in order to see them.

    Liked by 1 person

WHAT ARE YOUR THOUGHTS?

