#BOMTC 2 Nephi 2: “It’s My Vote That Counts”–Agency and Accountability

In 2 Nephi 2, Lehi teaches some great doctrine about the Plan of Salvation to his son, Jacob. To me, Jacob appears to be relatively young, but very spiritually mature (2 Nephi 2:2-4). Lehi is able to lay out God’s Plan in such a way that we are able to see clearly that ANYONE can have ETERNAL LIFE—but one must want it MORE than anything else!

#BOMTC Day 10, April 16~2 Nephi 2 or Pages 55-60 Focus On What Matters MostTherein is found the problem for me. Sometimes I give up what I want MOST for what I want at the MOMENT. I know what I should do, but I don’t always do it; I know what I shouldn’t do, and I sometimes do it anyway.

#BOMTC Day 10, April 16~2 Nephi 2 or Pages 55-60 What Matters Most

The fact of the matter is that God has given me EVERYTHING that I need to gain Eternal Life (2 Nephi 2:4-9). There are no excuses for me! I am free to ACT for myself (2 Nephi 2:14,26). I CHOOSE my own outcome (2 Nephi 2:27-29). I choose not a creature of circumstance, but a creator of circumstance.

“Agency Continuum” from OneClimbs.com

“Agency Continuum” from OneClimbs.com

As President Boyd K. Packer is fond of saying, “The Lord is voting for me, and Lucifer is voting against me, but IT IS MY VOTE THAT COUNTS.” (Cleansing the Inner Vessel, emphasis added.)

"The Lord is voting for me, and Lucifer is voting against me, but it is my vote that counts." -President Boyd. K. Packer

“The Lord is voting for me, and Lucifer is voting against me, but it is my vote that counts.” -President Boyd. K. Packer

My every action and choice I make is either helping me gain “liberty and eternal life, through the great Mediator… or… captivity and death, according to the captivity and power of the devil” (2 Nephi 2:27). God wants me to choose “joy” (2 Nephi 2:25). It really is MY VOTE THAT COUNTS!

#BOMTC Day 10, April 16~2 Nephi 2 or Pages 55-60 (3)

Click graphic for more on “Agency and Accountability”

You may enjoy reading more about these chapters at the following links:

#BOMTC Day 10, April 16~2 Nephi 2 or Pages 55-60 It Is My Vote That Counts

DON’T FORGET TO SHARE YOUR THOUGHTS:

Please leave your thoughts about a special verse, teaching, etc. that you enjoyed at one of the following:
REPLY at the bottom of each post at: bookofmormontranslationchallenge.wordpress.com
LIKE our Facebook page and post at: facebook.com/BookOfMormonTranslationChallenge
JOIN our Facebook group and share at: facebook.com/groups/BookOfMormonTranslationChallenge
TWITTER and INSTAGRAM users can use #bomtc for related posts: twitter.com/brosimonsays | instagram.com/brosimonsays

About Bro Simon Says

Husband, Father, Teacher View all posts by Bro Simon Says

WHAT ARE YOUR THOUGHTS?

