#BOMTC 2 Nephi 20-24: Be Aware and Beware of Pr-I-de

In these pages we see the destruction of the wicked nations of Assyria and Babylon as types and shadows of the destruction that will befall the worldly preceding the Millennial reign of the Messiah. What seems to lead to the imminent destruction of the wicked is illustrated quite well in 2 Nephi 24:12-17. You will notice that phrase, “I will,” repeated over and over with reference to Lucifer. This directly contrasts the Savior’s, “Thy will,” statement that represents His entire existence.

#BOMTC Day 16, April 22~2 Nephi 20-24 or Pages 91-96 My Way VS God's Way

Pride is an “I” problem! (“I will…”). This is easy to remember because “I” is at the center of pr-I-de.  In his Book, “How To Win Friends And Influence People”, Dale Carnegie writes “The New York Telephone Company made a detailed study of telephone conversations to find out which word is the most frequently used. You have guessed it: it is the personal pronoun ‘I.’… It was used 3,900 times in 500 telephone conversations. ‘I.’ ‘I.’ ‘I.’ When you see a group photograph that you are in, whose picture do you look for first?

#BOMTC Day 16, April 22~2 Nephi 20-24 or Pages 91-96 prIde

In General Conference President Dieter F. Uchtdorf said, “Past generations had their struggle with variations of egotism and narcissism, but I think today we are giving them serious competition. Is it any coincidence that the Oxford Dictionary recently proclaimed “selfie” as the word of the year?

#BOMTC Day 16, April 22~2 Nephi 20-24 or Pages 91-96 Selfie

These Isaiah chapters that Nephi quotes seem to be teaching us that we need to eliminate unrighteous pr-I-de in our life. If we do we can enjoy an incredible Millennial experience with the Savior, Jesus Christ! As President Ezra Taft Benson pleaded with the Saints, “BEWARE OF PR-I-DE!

#BOMTC Day 16, April 22~2 Nephi 20-24 or Pages 91-96 Beware of Pride

Pride Simulation Center

A father takes his family to a futuristic center to learn about pride. Through a simulated experience, two young people discover aspects of pride in their own lives. Segment 1, Pride Simulation Center.

Steve’s Pride Simulation

Conclusion of Pride Simulation

#BOMTC Isaiah Survivor Award!

Post it proudly to your social media once you finish 2 Nephi 24

#BOMTC Isaiah Survivor Award! Post it proudly to your social media once you finish 2 Nephi 24.

You may enjoy learning more from the following :

DON’T FORGET TO SHARE YOUR THOUGHTS:

Please leave your thoughts about a special verse, teaching, etc. that you enjoyed at one of the following:
REPLY at the bottom of each post at: bookofmormontranslationchallenge.wordpress.com
LIKE our Facebook page and post at: facebook.com/BookOfMormonTranslationChallenge
JOIN our Facebook group and share at: facebook.com/groups/BookOfMormonTranslationChallenge
TWITTER and INSTAGRAM users can use #bomtc for related posts: twitter.com/brosimonsays | instagram.com/brosimonsays

About Bro Simon Says

Husband, Father, Teacher View all posts by Bro Simon Says

2 responses to “#BOMTC 2 Nephi 20-24: Be Aware and Beware of Pr-I-de

  • Rita winmill

    I have not replied to one yet. I have enjoyed every post you shared with us for the last couple of years. Because of you I have read the Book of Mormon with you, and learned to absolutely love this book. Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bro Simon Says

      Thank you so very much for sharing this! Experiences like yours really help me to feel that my efforts are helping the Lord to hasten His work. I hope you will continue to study and cherish the Book of Mormon throughout your life!

      Like

WHAT ARE YOUR THOUGHTS?

